Class AA and AAAA teams announced: Honors for Brumbaugh, Rossi after S Fayette title

Returning Class AA All State squad members Terry Swanson and Dravon Henry from Aliquippa. (Courier Photos/William McBride/File)

HARRISBURG (AP) — Considering the history at the quarterback position in the WPIAL, what South Fayette signal caller Brett Brumbaugh accomplished this season qualifies as special.
The 6-4, 200-pound Brumbaugh established the single-season passing mark for quarterbacks from the Pittsburgh area by throwing for 3,910 yards.
South Fayette also erased a bad memory from the 2010 PIAA Class AA championship game by defeating Imhotep Charter 41-0 in the state title game behind Brumbaugh’s 299 yards and three touchdowns.
In the end, Brumbaugh had 41 touchdown passes for the undefeated Lions (16-0).
Brumbaugh’s strong arm, record-breaking season and overall savvy helped South Fayette win the first state championship in school history and earned the junior Class AA Player of the Year honors as part of the 2013 Pennsylvania Football Writers’ All-State Football Team.
South Fayette quarterback Brett Brumbaugh (7) looks for a receiver during the first half of a PIAA high school Class AA championship football game in Hershey, Pa., Sunday, Dec. 15, 2013. (AP Photo/Ralph Wilson)
South Fayette quarterback Brett Brumbaugh (7) looks for a receiver during the first half of a PIAA high school Class AA championship football game in Hershey, Pa., Sunday, Dec. 15, 2013. (AP Photo/Ralph Wilson)

This is the fourth year the selection of the all-state team has been overseen by the sportswriters who cover high school football around the commonwealth. Players were nominated in all four PIAA classifications, then a statewide ballot was sent out affording all the writers to cast their vote.
South Fayette coach Joe Rossi guided the Lions to their second state championship game appearance in four years and was named Class AA Coach of the Year.
The 2013 Class AA All-State squad features six returning selections including Brumbaugh. Three players are from Aliquippa: Dravon Henry, Terry Swanson and Jaleel Fields. Linebacker Eric Haney from Danville and Paryss Marshall from Catasauqua round out the returnees.
With plenty of seniors bound for FBS college programs filling out the big-school classification, it speaks volumes that the voters chose Neshaminy junior running back D’Andre Pollard as the Class AAAA Player of the Year.
The 5-7, 170-pound Pollard rushed for a staggering 2,928 yards for the District 1-champion Redskins. He averaged 9.0 yards per carry, scored 39 touchdowns and his 195.2 yards per game over 15 weeks is an impressive number.
St. Joseph’s Prep coach Gabe Infante guided the Hawks through a brutal regular season that saw his club lose two games but ultimately came out on top by claiming a state championship. Infante was the choice of the voters as the Class AAAA Coach of the Year.
Only four of the 34 Class AAAA All-State selections made the grade a year ago. John Reid from St. Joseph’s Prep and Gateway’s Montae Nicholson made the squad again at defensive back. Lower Dauphin kicker Joe Julius and Erie McDowell offensive lineman Scot Augustine each were selected last season a juniors.
A closer look at the Class AA and AAAA teams:
Matt Shaffer, Richland, 6-2, 200 senior
Brett Brumbaugh, South Fayette, 6-2, 200 junior
Zack Bradley, Catasauqua, 6-1, 177 senior
Running Back
Terry Swanson, Aliquippa, 5-9, 185 senior
Shannon Jackson, Fairview, 6-1, 215 senior
Ryan Heim, Pine Grove, 5-9, 160 senior
Ra’Von Burton, Catasauqua, 5-11, 195 senior
Wide Receiver
Paryss Marshall, Catasauqua, 6-2, 188 senior
Jamal Custis, Neumann-Goretti, 6-5, 205 senior
Brandon Kuntz, Camp Hill Trinity, 6-4, 200 senior
Tight End
Alec Bloom, Ligonier Valley, 6-7, 242 senior
Offensive Linemen
Dylan Brennan, Troy, 6-3, 280 junior
Aaron Ruff, Imhotep Charter, 6-5, 300 senior
Mac Storm, Northwestern, 6-3, 300 senior
Jaleel Fields, Aliquippa, 6-2, 287 senior
Ben Henry, Palisades, 6-2, 305 senior
Dravon Henry, Aliquippa, 5-11, 180 senior
Deandre Scott, Imhotep Charter, 5-10, 180 senior
Matt Voytik, Hickory, 6-1, 180 senior
Shayne Riley, Danville, 6-0, 150 junior
Defensive Linemen
Pietro Gaspari, Berks Catholic, 6-1, 215 senior
Ben Verhovsek, Richland, 6-0, 230 senior
Brady Mutton, Pen Argyl, 6-2, 260 senior
Tyrone Barge, Imhotep Charter, 6-1, 276 senior
Eric Haney, Danville, 6-0, 210 senior
Jared Nosal, Catasauqua, 5-11, 210 senior
Ryan Morris, Corry, 6-1, 210 senior
Daulton Linton, Hickory, 5-11, 205 senior
Defensive Back
Drew Newcomb, Lewisburg, 6-1, 185 junior
Kyle Datres, Loyalsock, 6-1, 185 junior
Noah Osman, Chestnut Ridge, 5-10, 135 junior
Matt Kase, Berks Catholic, 6-0, 185 senior
Justin Watson, South Fayette, 6-3, 195 senior
Cam Richardson, Northwestern Lehigh, 5-8, 155 junior
Player of the Year: Brett Brumbaugh, South Fayette
Coach of the Year: Joe Rossi, South Fayette
Chris Martin, St. Joseph’s Prep, 5-10, 185 senior
Andrew Ford, Cedar Cliff, 6-2, 195 senior
Mark Pyles, Lebanon, 6-0, 215 senior
Running Back
D’Andre Pollard, Neshaminy, 5-7, 170 junior
Kareem Williams, Parkland, 6-0, 190 senior
Chase Edmonds, CD East, 5-10, 185 senior
Smir Bullock, Archbishop Ryan, 5-7, 165 junior
Wide Receiver
Troy Apke, Mt. Lebanon, 6-2, 190 senior
Elijah Zeise, North Allegheny, 6-2, 200 senior
Tight End
Luke Carrezola, Neshaminy, 6-3, 242 senior
Offensive Linemen
Scot Augustine, Erie McDowell, 6-1, 200 senior
Jon Daniel Runyan, St. Joseph’s Prep, 6-4, 255 junior
Alex Bookser, Mt. Lebanon, 6-6, 295 senior
Michael Grimm, Bethel Park, 6-6, 308 senior
Sterling Jenkins, Baldwin, 6-8, 300 junior
Eric Gallo, Council Rock South, 6-3, 280 senior
Troy Spencer, Lower Dauphin, 5-11, 180 senior
Eli Redmond, Parkland, 5-7, 175 senior
Joe Julius, Lower Dauphin, 5-11, 200 senior
Defensive Linemen
Michal Menet, Exeter Twp., 6-4, 255 sophomore
Trey Klock, Lower Dauphin, 6-4, 260 senior
Zack DeLuca, Pittsburgh C.C., 6-2, 240 senior
Ben Huss, Upper St. Clair, 6-3, 275 senior
Tyler Burke, Coatesville, 6-4, 245 senior
Zaire Franklin, La Salle College HS, 6-1, 220 senior
Niko Thorpe, Pittsburgh C.C., 5-11, 220 senior
Nezar Haddad, Parkland, 6-2, 210 senior
Tyler Heisey, Cumberland Valley, 5-11, 195 senior
Defensive Back
Connor Golden, Archbishop Ryan, 6-0, 190 senior
John Reid, St. Joseph’s Prep, 5-10, 180 junior
Montae Nicholson, Gateway, 6-3, 200 senior
Ryan Bonshak, Whitehall, 5-10, 185 senior
Vince Moffett, St. Joseph’s Prep, 5-10, 185 senior
Daquan Worley, Coatesville, 5-11, 175 senior
Player of the Year: D’Andre Pollard, Neshaminy
Coach of the Year: Gabe Infante, St. Joseph’s Prep
COMING THURSDAY: Class A and AAA teams.

About Post Author


From the Web