Film academy invites 271 to join in the Oscar vote

Lupita Nyong'o
In this Jan. 18, 2014 file photo, Lupita Nyong’o accepts the award for outstanding performance by a female actor in a supporting role for “12 Years a Slave,” at the 20th annual Screen Actors Guild Awards at the Shrine Auditorium, in Los Angeles. She is also nominated for an Oscar for performance by an actress in a supporting role for the film. (Photo by Frank Micelotta/Invision/AP, file)

LOS ANGELES (AP) — A total of 271 people working in the movie business have been asked to join its most exclusive club: the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.
Lupita Nyong’o, Chris Rock, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, Jason Statham and Michael Fassbender are among those invited to the actors branch, the academy announced Thursday. Music invitees include Pharrell Williams, Eddie Vedder and the Oscar-winning writers of “Let It Go,” Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Robert Lopez.
The film academy extends invitations annually to new members. Candidates are suggested by existing members of each of the organization’s 17 branches.
Those who join the academy become permanent members and cast ballots for the Academy Awards.

About Post Author


From the Web

Skip to content