FAME holds 21st Annual Celebration, April 24

FAME STUDENTS—Eric Humphries, Jaylen Cooper, Canaan Blackwell, Brennen Crawford, Savion Jemison and Jaedyn Conway

The concept of FAME (Fund for Advancement of Minorities through Education) was developed in 1993 when founder Ron Gebhardt was Chairman of the Board of Sewickley Academy. He and members of the boards of other independent schools in the Greater Pittsburgh area were concerned with the low enrollment of African American students in independent schools, as well as the lack of an African American presence in the corporate community. A commitment was made that FAME would award scholarships in the amount of $5,000 per student and in collaboration with the independent schools, the FAME Scholars would be funded as required to meet their financial need.

On April 24, at the Senator John Heinz History Center, FAME held their 21st Annual Celebration with award-winning journalist, entrepreneur and host of the weekly syndicated political show, “Matter of Fact,” Soledad O’Brien as keynote speaker. Brooklynne Lowry, a senior at Shady Side Academy and M. Romon Washington, II a senior at Winchester Thurston School, served as emcees. The FAME alumni speaker was Michael Larson Edwards. The evening afforded FAME students the opportunity to showcase their plans for the near future. The Vincent O. Johnson Scholarship (outgoing Board Chair) was presented to Brooklynne Lowry and Jeramaya Gramby. Each received $500.


Like us at https://www.facebook.com/pages/New-Pittsburgh-Courier/143866755628836?ref=hl

Follow @NewPghCourier on Twitter  https://twitter.com/NewPghCourier


From the Web