When it comes to NFL Coach of the Year, stop trying to derail Coach Tomlin (Jan. 8)


According to phrases.org.uk, the phrase Admiral Horatio Nelson is supposed to have said was, “turn a blind eye,” when he willfully disobeyed a signal to withdraw during a naval engagement.

The British fleet of the day was commanded by Admiral Sir Hyde Parker. The two men disagreed over tactics and at one point Parker sent a signal (by the use of flags) for Nelson to disengage. Nelson was convinced he could win if he persisted and that’s when he coined the phrase ‘turned a blind eye’.

“You know, Foley,” he supposedly told one of his subordinates, “I have only one eye—and I have a right to be blind sometimes… I really do not see the signal.”

Let’s talk about the NFL Coach of the Year Award. The honor is supposedly awarded to the coach who does the most to give his team a chance to win. Well let’s take a look at how the award has been handed out over the years and question the legitimacy of the reward. From 1955 to 1959 there was only the NFL so the first five awards were to NFL (now the NFC) coaches. When the AFL (now mostly the AFC) was formed there were two Coach of the Year awards, one for the NFL and the AFL. That practice continued until 1997 when it was determined that only one award be given to the best coach of the combined NFC and AFC. Ray Rhodes was the first Black coach to win the award as the head coach of the Philadelphia Eagles in 1995, approximately 40 years after the award was created. It would take until 2005 for another Black coach to win the award. That would be Lovie Smith, the head coach of the Chicago Bears. Marvin Lewis, the head coach of the Cincinnati Bengals, would snag the award in 2009.

Ron Rivera, the head coach of the Carolina Panthers, would win the award in 2013 and 2015. Mike Tomlin, the head coach of the Steelers, has been mentioned by many of the national sports pundits have openly advocated for Tomlin to receive the honor. However, many of the “talking heads in the Steelers market have quietly and openly fought against the suggestion of Tomlin receiving any accolades regarding the 2019 season. The Pittsburgh media has tried and continue to derail the “Tomlin award” and they seem to hate even hearing his name when it comes to receiving any accolades at all.

Steel town pollution monger John Steigerwald had this to say about the coaching effort of Mike Tomlin. “Sorry, Mike Tomlin, but John Harbaugh is NFL Coach of the Year. You deserved serious consideration when your Pittsburgh Steelers somehow were in position to get into the playoffs after losing Ben Roethlisberger for the season and having to deal with so many injuries to other key players along the way. Imagine how much it would have hurt if the Steelers managed to beat the Ravens’ JV team in Baltimore. If it makes you feel any better, even if you had gotten the Steelers to the playoffs, you would have been no better than the second-best coach of the year.”

Talk about turning a blind eye; many of these media types continue gushing with praise and it seems as if they still idolize carrying and washing the cheating stained jockstrap of Bill Belichick, who they still voted for Coach of the Year in 2007 and 2010 after being exposed as a continual and pathological cheater. The award has only been awarded six times to minority coaches since 1955. The folks that vote for the award are not only blind, they are deaf, dumb and racially insensitive.

by Aubrey Bruce, For New Pittsburgh Courier


From the Web