15 aspiring filmmakers win Student Academy Awards

Spike Lee, Fay Kanin
This undated publicity file photo provided by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences shows Spike Lee, left, winner, Dramatic Merit Award for “Joe’s Bed-Stuy Barbershop: We Cut Heads,” and Academy president Fay Kanin at the 1983 (10th) Student Academy Awards ceremony in Beverly Hills, Calif. (AP Photos/AMPAS, Long Photography, file)

LOS ANGELES (AP) — Fifteen aspiring filmmakers are joining a club that includes John Lasseter, Trey Parker and Spike Lee: They’ve won Student Academy Awards.
The film academy announced its 2014 honorees Friday in alternative, animation, documentary, narrative and foreign films. Gold, silver and bronze medals will be presented at a free public ceremony June 7 at the DGA Theater in Los Angeles.
The winners are:
— Daniel Sierra, School of Visual Arts, New York.
— Drew Brown, The Art Institute of Jacksonville, Florida.
— Teng Chang, University of Southern California.
— Daniel Clark and Wesley Tippetts, Brigham Young University, Utah.
— Hayley Foster, Loyola Marymount University, California.
— Helen Hood Scheer, Stanford University, California.
— Zijian Mu, New York University.
— J. Christian Jensen, Stanford University.
— Keola Racela, Columbia University, New York.
— Yulin Liu, New York University.
— Camille Stochitch, American Film Institute, Los Angeles.
— Peter Baumann, Northern Film School, U.K.
— Lennart Ruff, University of Television and Film, Munich.
— Hadas Ayalon, Tel Aviv University, Israel.


From the Web