North Georgia declared stated of emergency

APTOPIX Winter Weather Georgia
Gov. Nathan Deal signed an executive order Sunday evening, declaring a State of Emergency for Disaster Preparedness for 15 North Georgia counties under a winter storm warning, and ask that most state workers in affected areas to stay home from work.
“I am issuing this order out of an abundance of caution, so the state can make all preparations necessary to quickly and efficiently address any potential winter weather problems,” Deal said in a prepared statement.
Also Sunday evening, the city of Atlanta announced that all of its government offices — including parks and courts — will be closed Monday. City employees not involved in responding to the storm are asked to stay home.
The city will continue to operate an overflow shelter at the Old Adamsville Recreational Center, however, which opened at 6 p.m.
The counties covered under Deal’s declaration are north of the Atlanta metro area: Catoosa, Dade, Dawson, Fannin, Gilmer, Habersham, Lumpkin, Murray, Pickens, Rabun, Towns, Union, Walker, White and Whitfield.

About Post Author


From the Web